top of page

A Small Request! Please Read!

Hello! 

I know this is a long shot, but I figured it would be worth the effort to try. I only hope people will listen… It couldn’t hurt, right? 


If you don’t mind, I’d like to tell you about a friend of mine, GrayBeardTv. He is a new YouTuber with a current count of 123 followers. He streams primarily for gaming but spends a lot of time communicating with chat while doing so. We are always included in one way or another, which to be honest is pretty refreshing after the past few years...

I’ve been communicating with him for a while now, and I’ve noticed just how much this all means to him. Gaming isn't just something he does in his free time, it's played a huge part throughout his life. Gaming wasn’t just something to show off, but something to share with others. 

I don’t know about you, but I love when I find a passionate YouTuber. By that, I mean you can see how games give him an outlet, a very small community, and a way to make a connection with the world… And I think that’s poetically beautiful. 

I hate to say this, but as a female gamer, I have always tried to avoid going online and playing with others. I've heard, like I'm sure many of you have, all the horror stories of women getting harassed. The other day, Gray asked for people to join the lobby chat so we could all play Killer Instinct together. He was well aware that I was a complete beginner and still welcomed me. We played and he made sure to not only support me in playing but also congratulated me if I had won. 

This may be no big deal to you, Reader, but for me, it meant a lot and gave me a tiny bit of freedom to let go of all that anxiety I've been carrying. I am naturally skittish, and Gray has done nothing but try to make me feel comfortable and welcome in his streams. He has done this for all of us who find him… And maybe this is a stupid attempt to give back, but I would like to try. 

I’m writing this to try and help him with his dream of making this Streaming Opportunity a functional career. I know a lot of people want this, I do, but I think he deserves this chance. He busts his ass constantly trying to give us the best streams he can. His brother also works extremely hard on this channel (making thumbnails, correcting OBS, etc..). This isn’t just one person affected by this… It’s his family too...


Listen, I understand this is the internet, and nobody wants to hear people complain or ask for help. I’m yelling into a black void, hoping to hear a response… But I’m still holding out hope. I know gaming streams may not be your thing, but if you would be willing to sub to him, maybe even give the stream a try; it would mean the world to all of us. I'm hoping that this letter will find the right people and that the universe will throw me a hallelujah... 

If you think you'd be willing, please check out his channel. He has no idea I wrote this, and probably never will. I just want to try and help a friend reach their dreams, and I hope you will too. 



PS, If you're a small streamer, please drop your info in the comments so I can follow you and hopefully others will too! I know this is a dog-eat-dog world, but I think that's stupid... Haha. I want the world to support each other more, and I want to do my part. <3

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page